First class of authors inducted into Kentucky Writers Hall of Fame

Posted on

The Carnegie Center has announced the inaugural six inductees into the newly created Kentucky Writers Hall of Fame.

The freshman class includes:

Harriette Arnow, the novelist best known for “The Dollmaker,” was born in 1908 in Wayne County.

William Wells Brown, was born into slavery in Lexington in 1814. His novel, “Clotel” (1853), is considered the first novel written by an African American.

Harry Caudill, born in Whitesburg in 1922, was the author of “Night Comes to the Cumberlands.”

Elizabeth Madox Roberts, born in Perryville in 1881, was a novelist and poet, as well as a contemporary of the Southern Renaissance writers. She wrote The Time of Man.

Copyright 2016 Smiley Pete Publishing. All rights reserved.